top of page

Acerca of

DSCF7716.jpg

STEPS

I like to say that there is the photographer who take pictures to meet other people and there is the photographer who takes pictures to meet himself. What I mean by that is that in my case, my approach does not rest on the Other. When I go to New York or Venice, it's not New Yorkers or Venetians that I'm want to photograph, what I'm interested in... it's how I feel when I'm in New York and Venice!

"Temps faible" photographer

​Like Raymond Depardon, Henry Cartier-Bresson or André Kertesz who share and shared the love of "temps faible", I am seduced by the poetry of the banal. While everyone will understand the meaning of "highlights", "temps faible" is the opposite. Here, the tension is elsewhere. I believe that the absence of a sensational event does not justify the fact of not taking photographs. In fact, I even think the exact opposite.

Suggestion as a weapon

In the continuity of this attraction for the banal, my approach is marked by a self-effacement which translates into a distance with my subjects. The characters when they are present, are often only shadows, reflections, silhouettes regularly crossing the frame or shot from behind. This reminds that passage and absence are recurring themes in my work.

Chiaroscuro as a pattern

My universe has an intense visual signature made of strong contrasts, play of shadows and reflections. Fascinated since childhood by chiaroscuro and more precisely tenebrism, I claim a direct influence by the works of Caravaggio or Flemish painters such as Rubens, Vermeer or Rembrandt.

SDIM0727.jpg

BIOGRAPHY

Who am I ?

Born in 1989, I am a French photographer based in Paris. Specialized in black and white, I've decided in 2015 to leave my career as a geographer in order to fully concentrate myself on the practice of photography.

In addition to obvious references to photography, my style also borrows from the codes of painting and cinema.

 

My work has been published and received several awards.I exhibit regularly in France and have had the opportunity to show my work in Italy, Greece, Canada and Japan.

​​

Since 2019, I am the photography section's president of the Société Nationale des Beaux-Arts, the oldest association of artists in France, also at the origin of one of the largest Parisian art fairs.

MY INFLUENCES

In photography

Kertesz_PeintreOmbre-1100.jpg

Andre Kertesz

josef-koudelka--france-nord-pas-de-calais-calais.jpg

Josef Koudelka

k_0-599x799.jpg

Brassai

Eugene Atget

1619447660109291.jpg

Robert Doisneau

Lee Friedlander

a8d9109e27d79e986e880136aa78082c.jpg

Ray Metzker

Michael Kenna

00-1.jpg.webp

Stanley Kubrick

cri_000000443937.jpg

Bernice  Abbott

In painting

Rembrandt_van_Rijn_198-WKM-838x1024.jpg

Rembrandts

Johannes Vermeer

10079627.image.jpeg

Caravaggio

eugene_delacroix_la_grece_sur_les_ruines_de_missolonghi.jpg

Eugène Delacroix

bottom of page

Acerca de

DSCF7716.jpg

DEMARCHE

J'aime dire qu'il y a les photographes qui prennent des photos pour aller à la rencontre des autres et les photographes qui en prennent pour aller à la rencontre d’eux-mêmes. Ce que je veux signifier par là, c'est que dans mon cas, ma démarche ne repose pas sur l'Autre. Lorsque je vais à New York ou Venise, ce ne sont pas les new-yorkais ou les vénitiens que je vais photographier, ce que je prends en photo... c'est moi à New York et Venise !

Photographe du temps faible

​À l'instar de Raymond Depardon, Henry Cartier-Bresson ou André Kertesz qui partagent et partageaient l'amour du " temps faible ", je suis séduit par la poésie du banal. Si tout le monde comprend le sens du "temps fort", le "temps faible" en est à l'opposé. Ici, la tension est ailleurs. Selon moi, l'absence d'un évènement sensationnel ne justifie pas le fait de ne pas photographier. En fait, je pense même l'exact contraire.

La suggestion comme arme

Dans la continuité de cet attrait pour le banal, mon approche est marquée par une pudeur qui se traduit par une distance avec mes sujets. Lorsqu’ils sont présents, les personnages ne sont souvent que des ombres, des reflets, des silhouettes en général de dos et traversant le cadre. Cette démarche est à mettre en lien avec le passage et l'absence qui sont des thématiques récurrentes de mon travail.

Le clair-obscur en patron

Mon univers possède une signature visuelle intense faite de contrastes appuyés, de jeux d'ombres et de reflets. Fasciné depuis l'enfance par le clair-obscur et plus précisément le ténébrisme, je revendique une influence directe des oeuvres du Caravage et celles des peintres flamands tels que Rubens, Vermeer ou Rembrandt.

SDIM0727.jpg

BIOGRAPHIE

Qui suis-je ?

Né en 1989, je suis un photographe français basé à Paris. Spécialisé dans les prises de vues en noir et blanc, j'ai décidé en 2015 de quitter ma carrière de géographe afin de me consacrer pleinement à la pratique de la photographie.

En plus de références évidentes à la photo, mon style emprunte également aux codes de la peintures et du cinéma.

 

Mon travail a fait l'objet de publications et a reçu plusieurs distinctions. J'expose régulièrement en France et ai eu l'occasion de mon travail en Italie, Grèce, Canada et Japon.

Je préside depuis 2019, la section photographie de la Société Nationale des Beaux-Arts, plus vieille association d'artistes de France également à l'origine d'un des plus grands salons d'art parisien.

MES INFLUENCES

En photographie

Kertesz_PeintreOmbre-1100.jpg

André Kertesz

josef-koudelka--france-nord-pas-de-calais-calais.jpg

Josef Koudelka

k_0-599x799.jpg

Brassaï

Eugène Atget

1619447660109291.jpg

Robert Doisneau

Lee Friedlander

a8d9109e27d79e986e880136aa78082c.jpg

Ray Metzker

Michael Kenna

00-1.jpg.webp

Stanley Kubrick

cri_000000443937.jpg

Berenice  Abbott

En peinture

Rembrandt_van_Rijn_198-WKM-838x1024.jpg

Rembrandt

Johannes Vermeer

10079627.image.jpeg

Le Caravage

eugene_delacroix_la_grece_sur_les_ruines_de_missolonghi.jpg

Eugène Delacroix